Wednesday, 4 November 2015

*Release Day Post & Review* EPIC SINS by Trudy Stiles

Author: Trudy Stiles
Expected Publication Date: November 4th 2015
Source: eARC provided by Give Me Books on behalf of the author in exchange for an honest review

"The Epic Fail series will begin this Fall (2015).

This is a spinoff of the bestselling Forever Family series. These will all be STANDALONE novels focusing on the various characters from the band Epic Fail that were introduced in Dear Emily.

Garrett Armstrong, the lead guitarist of Epic Fail, womanizer and not so nice guy, leaves a trail of women in his wake. A recent one-night stand wreaks havoc, and turns his present completely upside down. He’s faced with a reality that he never expected. Never wanted.

Samantha Weston can’t escape the black cloud that follows her. She suffered an unspeakable loss as a teenager and has been climbing uphill ever since. As soon as her life starts to become manageable she’s slammed with another tragic event, forcing her to abandon the only thing in life that she cherishes. 

A heartbreaking situation throws this unlikely pair together. They’re forced to face things that seem impossible. Can Sam get past the demons that haunt her? Can Garrett accept a fate he swore to avoid at all costs?

Can they conquer the sins that are poised to destroy them or will they become an Epic Fail?

Epic Sins is the first book of the Epic Fail series, a spin-off of The Forever Family series. 
Reading The Forever Family series is not required as these are all spin-off/standalone novels, but it may enhance your experience."

Book 1 - expected Fall 2015
Book 2 - expected Winter 2016
Book 3 - expected Spring 2016

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

Firstly, I must say I have read Trudy's Forever Family series and LOVED those books. But they don't need to be read before Epic Sins, they can be read before, after or not at all - though I would hope you would choose to read them at some point. Everything Trudy writes, she writes it with passion, with love, with heart. There's a reason why she's a Best Selling author, well, many reasons, and her passion is just one of them. 
What happens when an incredible author gets an idea for a series about a rock band? Well, something EPIC is born. 
Garrett Armstrong, lead guitarist of EPIC FAIL, is one of many men that are the love them and leave them type. In fact, he uses women they way one would use a tissue - use it once, then throw it away. He doesn't do romance or commitment. Little does he know there is something headed his way that will change his life irrevocably, whether he wants it to happen or not. Garrett is a good guy deep down, he just has to reach to the very deepest part of himself in order to take on what is headed his way. His life was tough, growing up with a wonderful mother but a poor excuse for a father, until his Mom remarried and brought Bill into their lives. Garrett loves them both dearly, but his life is on the road. It's that of a rock star. Touring, making music and using every woman that will look your way. He thinks he's invincible, but he's soon going to have to learn in the hardest way, that there is more to life, more to being a good person. 

Sam Weston is a nurse, working in NICU, with the sickest of babies. She sees life and death, day in and day out. She's a major part of what gets babies from being severely poorly to being healthy enough to leave the NICU and go home to their parents. She's used to facing hardship in more ways than one. As a teenager, she faced a devastating loss. It truly was debilitating, and this is why she wants to give back in the form of her work. But she's all work and no play. She doesn't have time for love, or even for dating. 

Something is about to happen that forces Garrett and Sam's worlds to collide. Told in dual POV and alternating between past and present, EPIC SINS is a truly heart-wrenching story. It's one hell of an emotional roller coaster from start to finish. The characters draw you in to their world and you feel as though you are living every moment with them. Whether you are reading Sam's past or present, or Garrett's, there's one thing they have in common, their lives were dealt tragic blows. They are united in grief, only neither of them know it. Sam is a nurse and as such, is working for Garrett. She's there to do a job, not to fall in love. But what if she can't help it? He's a musician, out on the road, no room for love in his life. But what if all he needs to do is meet the right woman? What if their paths are destined to entwine? But then what happens when, together, they are dealt a devastating blow? There's something out there that is destined to blow a hole right through what they were working to build. What happens if Sam cannot forgive Garrett for something that isn't even really his fault? 

Will Sam and Garrett find their way back to love? Is love ever really enough for a relationship to survive? If you want to find out, then I suggest buying a copy of this amazing novel for yourself. 

This is one beautifully written, highly emotional novel that had me laughing, crying, screaming and wanting to reach in and knock the pair's heads together. I went through a range of emotions, but mostly, I spent my time crying. Crying for Sam and Garrett's pasts, for Sam and Garrett in the present and for the sweet little babies of the NICU. My heart truly took a battering from the first word to the last, but looking back, I wouldn't have it any other way. Joining these characters on their journey of ups and downs was one of the best things I've done. If you love stories that can bring you to your knees, then this one is for you. 

Thank you for coming to read my review. I hope you'll head to Amazon and purchase a copy of EPIC SINS for yourself.

Sunday, 25 October 2015

Hello & Welcome To My Blog!

My name is Keren. I am 31 years old and I love to read. I live and breathe books.
I love to read mainly NA but will read YA too. I also love Adult fiction, Erotica, M/M and F/F. So please beware that not all the reviews on my blog will be suitable for younger eyes!
Whether you are a new visitor or someone I know, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!
I don't blog everyday as I am usually busy with my nose buried in a book. Instead I tend to come on when I have a review to post. Though sometimes I may post something book related but seemingly a bit random :)


Thank you for coming by and taking a look. Feel free to leave a comment, contact me, follow my blog and follow me on
Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads & Shelfari

I now also have an author blog. I'd love to see you there.

Monday, 19 October 2015


Title: Freed by Him
Series: Fighting Free Series
Author: GL Chapple
Genre: Contemporary Romance / Suspense
Release date: November 19th 2015
He hurt me
He broke me
He almost destroyed me
Nobody was ever going to do that to me again. I learnt to fight back. I made myself tougher, harder, stronger. I didn't want or need anyone.
Until Nate Masters.
Until he made me feel, want and need
Then my carefully constructed world began falling apart around me. Secrets shattering my faith in those closest to me and with the nightmare from my past pushing its way back into my present, I don't know how much strength I have left to fight with…
Could I trust him? Give someone the power to hurt me again? He's determined to break me free from behind my walls of self preservation
I'm just not sure I'm ready or willing to be Freed by Him....
received_10155987229420063 received_10155987226320063 received_10155987223745063

I’m currently a SAHM to two little ones. I live in Wales in the UK and spend a huge amount of time at the beach, despite our climate…
I don’t drink any hot drinks despite trying my best to make myself like coffee! I love reading – obviously, writing and music, and hot sunny days which we never get enough of!
I’ve dreamed of writing my whole life and would often pen short stories as a child. Unfortunately, life took over and reading and writing were forced to take a back seat for the last few years. Until my husband bought me a kindle last Christmas, and well, suddenly everything changed…
Connect With GL Chapple

Sunday, 11 October 2015

Review of NOT ENOUGH by Mia Hoddell

Author: Mia Hoddell
Expected Publication Date: November 16th 2015
Source: eARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Neve Colvin isn’t good enough. As an introvert, her life is a never-ending list of labels and criticism. Pressures to change come from everyone—including the one person she thought would love her unconditionally … her mother. All Neve wants is acceptance, but surrounded by extroverts it’s a wish that’s nearly impossible to fulfil.

For Neve there’s only one solution: anyone disapproving must go. Even if it means only one person will remain.

That person is her lifelong friend Blake Reynolds. He’s seen the fights with her mum, the breakdowns caused by attacks on her personality, and the battles for acceptance. Each time she is left shattered and questioning who she is, he’s the one to collect the pieces of her broken heart. Shielding her from the cruelty is his only concern. But how can he protect her when Neve is concealing a secret so dark?

Blake thinks he knows everything about her, and with their relationship developing, he assumes Neve trusts him fully. However, there is one memory Neve is too ashamed of to share. Revealing it will test Blake’s loyalty beyond what she could ever ask, and Blake is the only friend she can’t afford to lose. He’s the one person capable of dragging her from the darkness plaguing her, but with pressures to conform increasing, even Blake may not be enough to pull her back this time.

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

I was asked to review this book by the author, Mia Hoddell and I couldn't refuse. It sounded like just my kind of story. I love getting swept into other people's worlds and I won't lie, I was totally consumed by Neve and Blake's story. 
As a girl who has always felt she isn't good enough, doesn't fit in anywhere and is fed up of being called 'quiet' and 'introverted', as though those labels make someone a bad person or someone people don't want to befriend, I can totally see where Neve is coming from. I grew up not fitting in with my family. I had several groups of friends as I felt I didn't really fit in with any one clique at school. I was quiet, shy, introverted. I didn't act like most of my friends. Whilst they were out doing whatever it is young girls do, I was behind closed doors in my bedroom with a book in hand. I was far happier in my own company than in large crowds of people. Why? I really don't know. I'm still the same as a 32 year old woman. I have a small, close group of friends - in time, you come to realise that you can count your true friends on one hand, at least in my case. 
So I know how it feels to be branded the 'freak' because I wasn't into make-up, shopping, boys... all the 'normal' things that girls my age were into. But what is normal? Who decides what's normal and what isn't? Some people are extroverted and surround themselves with like-minded people. Some are introverted and keep more to themselves. If you can find the right balance in your friends, they help you see that being introverted isn't abnormal, it isn't wrong, it's just who and what you are. That's what I have now. I have people who accept me as I am and as for the rest, I cut them dead a long time ago because they couldn't let me be me. There was always something wrong with me, in their minds. But I'm just me. Take me or leave me. I am what I am, and I don't need to keep making excuses for my behaviour just because I'm different. 
Neve Colvin is a hell of a lot like me. It's almost as though Mia Hoddell stood in my shoes and wrote about my life. So many things in this story paralleled real-life. Neve is a character that I easily formed a connection with. Seeing her character traits reflect my own was something that tugged at my emotions and drew me right in with her. 
Neve grew up with an extroverted mother, a larger than life family, people who were the exact opposite of her. And because she was 'different' they always told her that there was something wrong with her. She grew up believing she was never good enough. Why couldn't her family and friends accept who for who she was? A clash of personalities, her mother always looked down her nose at Neve and belittled her very existence because she was quiet, shy, preferred the company of her best friend Blake to anyone else. Why was that? Because Blake accepted her for who she was. He never made her feel like she wasn't good enough to be friends with. Quite the opposite, Blake always encouraged Neve to just be Neve.
Moving out of home was one of the best things she decided to do. Although her mother could still make her feel like dirt, it was from a distance. Change was in the air for Neve,  it was just a question of when. How would her life play out if she got from under the influence of her mother? That's something you'll have to find out by picking up a copy of Not Enough for yourself. 

This story tugged at my heartstrings, played on my every emotion. It was a beautifully written story of how an introverted young girl blossoms into a beautiful young woman. It's almost a 'coming of age' story, where she discovers what real-life is like once you start to make your own decisions.

As I read, I had a song playing on loop in my head. I find it very fitting as it's a song I can connect with myself and I can connect Neve with it too. 

Thank  you Mia for allowing me to read an early copy of Not Enough. I am humbled that you should want to hear my thoughts on your story. Here is a teaser I made shortly after finishing the book...

Thank you for coming to read my  review. I hope it will encourage you to take a chance on this story yourself. 

Saturday, 22 August 2015

Review of CAN'T FIGHT FATE by Lisa N. Edwards

AUTHOR: Lisa N. Edwards
PUBLICATION DATE: August 1st 2015
SOURCE: ARC copy provied by Smith Publications inn exchange for an honest review

"Can the words of a Psychic influence your thoughts? Your Choices? Your Destiny? 

Nikki, an inspirited Aussie girl thought she had her life planned. GET A CAREER, FIND A MAN, START A FAMILY. Life seemed simple, until... accompanying her friend to a psychic changed her life forever. The psychic describes her soul mate. Mr Hollywood, a man with crystal green eyes. 

Flash forward 17 years, Nikki's career as a Hollywood Entertainment Lawyer is taking off, and the Green Eyed man is standing in front of her. The words of the psychic are imprinted on her mind... "Remember he's nice to look at, nice to see, but if you chase him, he will flee..." So if she cannot chase him, and she cannot tell him what she knows. Will she ignore the warnings to get what she wants? 

With her best friend, Siobhan, who is effectively her audacious and sassier alter ego, they navigate their way through the supposedly predestined life!

Nikki can try, but she Can’t Fight Fate."

*I Hereby Award This Book 4 Wings!*

I was offered a copy of this book for review and when I read the synopsis, I was truly intrigued. I wasn't let down because it was a brilliant read. Edwards has written a fast-paced, entertaining novel that will keep you guessing as to what will happen to Nikki. Can the words of psychic be helpful or can they lead to disaster? 

Nikki is a Hollywood entertainment lawyer and her career is really taking off. It's her love life that isn't where she wishes it could be. It all started with the words of a psychic years ago, telling her she would meet a green-eyed man who would be the love of her life when the time was right. Since  then, Nikki has dated several men, none of them turned out to be Mr Right. Now she has a career in Hollywood, can she meet the right man to sweep her off her feet? Should she keep listening  to the words of the psychic or should she forge her own path? 

Can't Fight Fate is a funny, fast-paced story that had me laughing all the way through. Nikki is a delightful character and so is her best friend Siobhan. Is Nikki's life path predestined? Is she headed for a happy ever after or is there disaster written all over it? You won't know the answer to that until the end. 
This is a cleverly written book by Edwards that is easily worth 4 stars. The characters are well developed and kept my interest piqued from beginning to end. The story itself had me in hysterics, but it also had me rolling my eyes at some of the jerks in Nikki's life. I would have liked to have punched one of them in particular in the face. 
If you want an easy end-of-summer read, then pick up a copy of Can't Fight Fate today. 

I am lucky enough to have a guest post from Lisa N. Edwards to share with you all today... 

Why you should lose the backup plan.
So you have a dream. However, you just never have the time... You know one day it will happen, maybe, if you ever find that elusive moment. Your life is busy, you are stuck in 9 to 5 mentality, which nowadays starts from the moment you wake up and usually does not end until late at night. Where do you find an hour, a minute, a second for you, for your dreams and goals? Everyone has exactly the same amount of time in their day, but it is how you use it that makes the difference.
The JUST INS will only consume your time.  I don't mean Justin as in, a man, like Justin Bieber or Timberlake, I mean the backup plan that stops you giving everything to your dream. The 'Just In' case something happens, I have plan B to fall back onto. WRONG! Plan B will become your safety net, where you now know in the back of your mind its always there, life is safe, you do not need to give everything to your dream to get where you are going, guess what, you'll probably never get there.
Everyone's path is different; this is mine. I am a mother of five children, married and at one stage not so long ago, managed my own Talent Agency. One of the largest, if not the largest in Melbourne, it consumed my life, and didn't make me happy. The people were mostly amazing, but the work was routine, while it was an exciting adventure at first, it became 'every day' very quickly with volumes of paperwork. I don't think my heart was ever 100% in love with what I was doing; buying the business was my 'Just In.' I thought I could do everything, and for a while I did, but it came to the point that I didn't feel alive anymore, I wasn't happy. I made the decision, I was going to change my life, not overnight, not even in a week, I didn't actually have a time frame, I just knew this is what I wanted and needed to achieve for myself. I didn't want to live thinking... What if?
For my own sanity and personal happiness, after ten years at the helm, I put the business on the market. I had a major panic attack, my husband and I were on rocky ground, he didn't have the same vision I had. He felt secure in his comfort zone, of knowing, my half of the bills were paid, life was relatively easy. BUT, I had big dreams. I was dying inside, my dreams felt like they were slipping away, like I could never achieve them. I pushed forward with what would be the most traumatic five years of my life. As I sit here writing this and reflecting, it was never really in me to take the easy road.
After the sale of my business, I paid out most of our smaller debts, leaving mortgage and car loans. I was lucky, I had one year of money to make this work. I had no clear plan, just the image of the where I wanted to be, the end result. For six months, I felt like a fish out of water. Not sure which way to go, or how to move forward, life was weird and completely unknown, I now had all this time, but limited money that I needed to stretch over the next 12 months. I didn't factor in, to reach my end dream, was expensive.
I received an email unexpectedly, with dates for a reading from Psychic Medium Lisa Williams. I had been on her waiting list for almost 18months. Surprisingly she knew exactly how I was feeling and where I wanted to be. She gave me a piece of advice, one that I had forgotten...
For me this meant focusing on the present moment, the end goal is still very important, and my dreams are huge, but how you get there is the fun part. The part I had forgotten to see by only looking at the end result.
This doesn't need to be huge; it can be just one person that believes in you, that makes you feel you could do anything.
The 12-month mark was quickly approaching and the money running out, I was going to have to find a job. Not wanting to go back to the stress of me being unhappy, my husband threw me a lifeline, we remortgaged our house after attending and being selected from the audience at an Intimate Group with Medium John Edward. Whoever he was chatting with on the other side said I should write the book. The Book is Can't Fight Fate, a book my husband and those close to me, had heard me talk about on and off, with there never being a 'right' moment.
You can live your dreams, I am living proof, if I can do it, so can you, take the first step; break up with 'Just In'!

Don't Let your Dreams, just be dreams!

 About The Author:
Lisa N. Edwards is a graduate of NIDA (National Institute of Dramatic Art) in Sydney, Australia, after which she was trained at The Film Space. She and her youngest daughter, Darcie, were featured in a series of Coles TV Commercials—‘Feed your Family for $10 with Curtis Stone’ and Coles Home Brand. Lisa’s latest credits include soon-to-be-released Aussie comedy ‘Now Add Honey’ and two Award-Winning Hollywood Short films, 'Riviera' and 'The Road Less Traveled.' A large portion of Lisa's working life was spent as a Talent Agent with VisionsMCP in Melbourne, of which she was the owner and Company Director for 13 years.

Can't Fight Fate will be available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and

Thank you for coming by to read my review. I hope you liked the post from Lisa. See you again soon!

Thursday, 20 August 2015

Review for Tribulation and Truths by L.A. Cotton

AUTHOR: L.A Cotton
PUBLICATION DATE: August 20th 2015
SOURCE: eARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

"When Ana revealed her suspicions to Jackson about the circumstances surrounding his father’s death, she never expected it to be the catalyst for a series of events that could change everything. It was supposed to save him, not push him away. But now Ana is left watching the person she loves more than anything, lose himself to vengeance.

Jackson has spent most of his life loyal to the man he calls Uncle. But since learning that Marcus Donohue might have been responsible for the death of his father, Jackson is consumed with the need for revenge. Even if it means hurting the people he loves, and going against everything he believes in, to uncover what happened.

Will the truth finally set Jackson free or will it ruin his last chance at happiness with Ana… and a life out from under the shadows of the Donohues?

Tribulations will be overcome, truths will be revealed. Welcome to Chastity Falls."

*I Hereby Award This Book 5 Wings!*

As always with L.A Cotton's books, I jumped at the chance to read an ARC of Tribulation & Truths. I am seriously glad I did because I had been having Jax withdrawal symptoms *swoon* That man is pure unadulterated bliss!
Tribulation & Truths is the final part of Jax and Ana's story and I won't lie, I am extremely sad that it had to end. I whole-heartedly wish that Lianne would write more books based on the couple because although I am intrigued by Braiden's story (the next book in the series), I wish it didn't have to centre around him. Jax and Ana are the ultimate book couple. They have their ups and downs, for sure. But don't all couples?! 
This time round, Jax is in deeper than ever before. He's taken Braiden's place in the family due to Braiden's incarceration. This makes it a hell of a lot more dangerous for the couple and ultimately, they must live a life pretending to bow to Marcus Donohue's commands, whilst trying their hardest to find evidence linking Marcus to the death of Jax's father. Is there evidence to be found? Could Marcus really have been behind the demise of his best friend? Can Ana and Jax uncover the truth and if so, can the do it in time before Jax is in over his head and gets a target on his back?
The story was fast-paced and highly entertaining. I read it in a matter of hours, though I kept having to put the book down and walk away to try and draw it out. I really couldn't handle it being the end. So for me it was a catch-22 situation. Read faster to uncover the truth or read slower to prolong the story before it's inevitable end? 
As with the previous stories in this series, T&T was well-written, it flowed beautifully and had me on the edge of my seat in anticipation. Lianne always succeeds in making me ride a roller coaster of emotion, but more so this time because I knew it was the end. I laughed, I cried, I even threw something in temper as I was left feeling utterly bereft at one point (no spoilers). 
T&T was the perfect way to end this amazing couple's journey. Many trials and tribulations later, you get to see whether they get their happily ever after or if it ends in disaster. 

I am grateful to Lianne for providing me with this amazing book and wish to congratulate her on a job well done, because I am sure she thrives on emotionally draining her readers LOL. 

Thank you for coming by to read my review.  I hope you'll join me in wishing a Happy Release Day to T&T today! <3

Sunday, 16 August 2015

The Magic Word Is... GIVEAWAY!! (and it's open internationally too!)

Hi Folks,

I wanted to bring you a giveaway to celebrate my 32nd birthday (which is August 22nd). I have recently attended my first signing as an author, in fact my first signing ever. It was amazing, I had such a blast. Everyone was so friendly and awesome, I just wish I'd had more time to stop and chat. But I did have time to get a few things to give away. This giveaway is international and will be open for one week until August 23rd.

Are you ready to see the beauties I have in store for you?




(click images to enlarge)

The top image is of the goodies that I managed to collect from other authors. There are things from Jodi Ellen Malpas, Sophie Jackson, Claire Riley, SJ Warner, Kirsty-Anne Still, CJ Fallowfield, D. Breeze and more. There are poker chips, postcards, magnets, a shot glass, wristbands, bottle tops, bookmarks and other little beauties.

The bottom image shows what I am donating from my own swag. There's a signed tshirt, a signed tablet case, a set of teasers made by my assistant Bella (1 of 3 sets made), wine glass charms, cabochon necklaces, key rings, mini-book magnets, mini-book key rings, glasses cleaning cloths, lanyards, a phone charms and a few other pieces besides.

If you want to win this great bundle, all you have to do is enter via the rafflecopter widget below...

Terms and Conditions:
  • Gothic Angel will not be held responsible for loss or damage that may happen in mailing
  • There are no replacements for these items if they should not arrive
  • This giveaway is international so please allow extra time for these items to arrive
  • The winner will be contacted via email and will be given one week to respond before another winner is selected in their place
  • You MUST fulfil all the requirements of the Rafflecopter widget above or your entries will be discounted
  • Any duplicated entries will be deleted 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...